Gail Lankford Sales Psychology Training Coach

Motivational Sales Strategies," the power of positive attitude"

How To Be A Sales Person, Motivational Training For The Sales Professional.

Leave a comment

Success Optimization Plan (SOP)

You are what motivates the selling process.  First impressions are a once in a lifetime achievement.  But there are steps to take to get to the ultimate place, “The Close” .

This S.O.P is about:

  • YOU
  • The Partnership
  • Standards
  • Team
  • Skills
  • Confidence
  • Consistency

You can’t be just ordinary, you must be ordinary doing extraordinary things really well.  As a sales person what tools do you have in your tool belt that makes you extraordinary?  When you think about your favorite hotel, what is it that makes you return? Consistency, The unique selling proposition that set the standards and offers the advantage over other places to stay.  Back in the late 80’s, I traveled to San Francisco on a conference with Federated Department stores.  Of course I wanted the experience of checking out all the department stores we didn’t have in the Midwest where I was currently living.  I stumbled upon Nordstroms Department store.  Wow, I always heard that Nordstroms had an awesome shoe department and I thought , let me go and see if they have any purple suede shoes I might like.  I had an invite to  an affair I was planning on attending the next week , and I wasn’t prepared.  Moseying along the department a gentleman approaches me and asked the question, “may I help you find something”  I replied with the typical answer “just looking”.  Being the extraordinary product of his environment, setting the standards and offering the level of consistency Nordstroms has always been known for,  he asked was I looking for shoes for a certain event?  I loosened up and told him “purple suede, size 7.  I sat down and he returned  with 10 pairs of purple suede shoes, in every price range and design imaginable.  OK, they have a nice selection, but is that what made the experience extraordinary, no, it was the fact that when He removed my shoes to start the try-on process, he took them with him, hmm,  I’m thinking to myself OMG, he took my shoes… But he returned them all nice and shiny!  FYI… Nordstroms originally was a shoe store before a department store.  Check out David Swanson’s video. 

  EXTRAORDINARY!

“Day by day, what you do is who you become.” ~Heraclitus 

Leave a Reply

